Falafel.

Both my kids keep calling these things waffles, and I can’t find it not funny so I go with it. These! These tiny, fried, flavor-packed lovers have made it to the dinner rotation. Surprisingly, I was having trouble going totally meatless. My kids have started eating a TON of meat, and I was feeling a bit guilty for being such a resource suck. I like these for their protein and simplicity, AND you can dress ’em up however you want! My older kid ate the falafels plain and then gobbled up a few veggie pita wraps. No complaints here! I’m not including a recipe for dressing of any kind because I didn’t make one. My husband used some caesar salad dressing we had in the fridge, and I used a little feta and a few squeezes of lemon to dress mine up. We loaded pita pockets with falafels, spinach, tomatoes, cucumbers, and a few other fancies that made our tastebuds sing. I think they’d be super yum atop a salad with a tangy dressing. Tomorrow’s lunch…!! To make things eeeeven better, these puppies are vegan if you don’t include feta, etc.¬†

1 can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed

1 medium onion, roughly chopped

1 c packed fresh herbs (I used a combination of parsley and cilantro), rinsed and dried

4 garlic cloves

1/4 tsp chili powder

1 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp sea salt

1/2 c flour (any kind will work)

Vegetable oil for frying

Optional: pita pockets (warmed and halved), spring mix, tomatoes, cucumbers, salad dressing, tahini, lemon, feta

In a food processor, pulse onion and garlic cloves until finely minced; remove from processor and set aside. Pile beans, herbs, spices, and salt into food processor; pulse until roughly chopped but not pureed, about 15 times. Add in onion mixture and 1/4 c flour and pulse to combine. Check mixture for moisture content; if it’s too sticky, add more flour a tablespoon at a time. (My falafel batter was really sticky but it turned out great.) Scrape out of food processor bowl into another bowl; cover; refrigerate for an hour. In a heavy-bottomed skillet, pour enough vegetable oil to fill pan 1/2″. Heat over medium heat to 350 degrees. Using a small measuring scoop, drop ~1 tbsp portions into the hot oil and carefully flatten. Do not overcrowd the pan! Turn when edges are browned and remove onto a cooling rack when browned all over. Keep hot in a warm oven while still on the cooling rack.

Leave a Reply

