Zucchini Tater Tots.

These are 100% Pinterest-attributed. I was innocently scrolling, they showed up in my feed, my mouth started watering, yadda yadda, and I made these to go with dinner tonight. My favorite part about this recipe is the itty bitty ingredient list. Literally, including salt, you use 4 ingredients. Four. Unless it’s a banana, I rarely eat something with so few ingredients. Both my kids liked ’em, even though I had to convince my six-year-old to chew the whole thing up and swallow before he made his final judgment (thumbs up). Something we didn’t do was let these babies cool on a cooling rack, which probably would’ve allowed them to crunch up. They were pretty crunchy when they were piping hot, but I piled them into a bowl before they had a chance to release their steam. Word to the wise: don’t do that. Even soft, they were still really good, but crunch is good too. 

3 medium Yukon gold potatoes, peeled, rinsed, and chopped into 1″ pieces

1 large zucchini, grated

2 tbsp high-heat oil (I used avocado oil), divided

Sea salt

Place potatoes in a pot with enough water to cover them by 1 inch. Bring to a boil, reduce heat slightly, and cook until potatoes are just fork tender. A little firmness is good. Drain; set aside to cool slightly. Place shredded zucchini in a thin towel or cheesecloth and squeeze out water until mostly dry. Using your hands, combine zucchini, potatoes, 1 tbsp oil, and 1 tsp salt in a large bowl, mashing potatoes until only small chunks remain. Shape into small 1″ cylinders or rectangles and place on a well-greased cookie sheet. Dab tops with remaining 1 tbsp oil and sprinkle with salt. Bake at 425 degrees for 15 minutes or until lightly browned on top. Remove from oven and move tots immediately to a cooling rack for 5 minutes. Serve warm.

Leave a comment