Cranberry Orange Pancakes.

Where some people crave pumpkin everything in the fall, I simply adore the tartness of cranberry dishes. Cobbler, homemade sauce, muffins…I drool when I think of all my favorite cranberry dishes, partly because they’re awesome, and partly because they have that amazing sourness rarely achieved outside of a Sour Patch Kid. The gods of Thanksgiving hovered over me this morning while I worked some pancake batter magic, and as my husband and I “mmmm’d” our way through a pile of fragrant hot goodness, I thought, “Pumkin shmumpkin.”

2 c flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
4 tbsp granulated sugar, divided
1 c fresh cranberries, rinsed
1 orange
1 1/2 c milk (I used almond milk)
1/4 c oil
2 eggs

Pulse cranberries, 2 tbsp sugar, and zest of half the orange in a food processor until cranberries are in mostly uniform 1/4″ pieces. Set aside. Into a 4-cup glass measuring pitcher, juice orange until you have about 1/4 c juice. Add almond milk and allow mixture to rest about 5 minutes. Meanwhile, sift together flour, baking powder, 2 tbsp sugar, and salt. After 5 minutes, crack eggs and pour oil into milk mixture and whisk. Pour milk mixture into sifted flour mixture and stir until just combined. Fold in cranberries. Allow batter to rest about 5 minutes. Pour by 1/2-cup portions onto well-greased griddle over low heat; flip when bubbles appear and edges appear to be set. Serve hot with butter or coconut oil and a sprinkle of sugar.

Leave a Reply

