Cornmeal Pancakes.

I adore those boxes of Jiffy corn muffin mixes. We ate them to death when I was a kid because they’re dang cheap and a filling addition to any meal. The pancakes made from those mixes are among my favorite comfort foods. I take issue with Jiffy’s not-so-great ingredients, so I don’t buy them, thus creating a hole in my comfort food heart. I’ve searched for a recipe that creates something similar, and you know what? There isn’t one. But I’m a big girl, and I know what’s in pancakes, and I finally freaking figured it out. I won’t lie and say these totally recreate the hydrogenated oil taste that you can find in Jiffy (nope!) but I will guarantee these go great with chili.

 

1/2 c flour

1 c cornmeal

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 c buttermilk or sour milk*

1 egg

1/8 c oil

1/8 c honey

 

In a medium mixing bowl, sift together flour, cornmeal, baking powder, and salt. Whisk together oil, egg, buttermilk, and honey. Add to cornmeal mixture and stir until smooth. Spoon into a greased skillet and flip when set. Serve hot alongside soup or chili, or drizzle maple syrup on top.

*To make sour milk, pour 1 tsp vinegar (I used apple cider vinegar) into a glass measuring cup. Add enough milk (I used almond) to make 1 cup. Allow to sit for 5 minutes before using.

Leave a Reply

