Jamaican Banana Fritters.

I have a problem. A banana problem.

20131106_183344

I buy way toomany bananas at atime. I honestly don’t know what comes over me when I see them at the store. I just keep picking out the ones that look good and putting them into my cart, and before I know it, I’m buying 15 lbs. Not joking. Bulk bananas are handy in recipes when your kid doesn’t eat dairy, buta family of 3+ can’t possibly eat that many bananas and still be regular. So we usually have a bunch of bananas turn brown that my husband sticks in the freezer before they melt into my countertop. Then, without thinking, I buy 15 lbs more. It’s ridiculous. This afternoon, I was staring at the bananas that were getting a tan in my kitchen and started Googling what to do with ripe bananas, just to see what I found, and I found these. A cross between a dessert and a breakfast, they take just a few minutes, make the house smell awesome, and taste amazing. Who can resist crunchy edges?!We’re in love. Eat up!

 

5 ripe bananas

1 tbsp honey

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp vanilla

1 c flour

3 tbsp vegetable oil

 

Mash bananas, honey, and spices. Stir in flour until incorporated. Heat oil over medium-high heat until smoking. Scoop by teaspoonfuls into hot oil and cook until edges are lightly browned. Flip and cook until set. Serve warm or hot.

Leave a Reply

