Honey-Flax Pumpkin Bread.

My sister makes some amazing pumpkin bread. I like to eat the one she makes because a) she’s good at baking it, and why mess with that? and b) I “don’t know what’s in it.” What I do know is it’s dairy-free, so we consider it a-ok for my son to partake in the occasional slice at family functions. I won’t, however, bake it at my house, because when there’s a vegetable involved in baking, my brain gives it a gold star. Then I eat way too much under the pretense that it’s healthy. Even though that pumpkin “bread” is a dessert, not a health food, the nom-nom-nom in me goes nuts! Also, my kid would whine about wanting to eat it until it was gone, and all that sugar would undo him.

 

Ahem. So enter this recipe. Not being a particular fall fanatic, I haven’t been consuming every bit of pumpkin spice fill-in-the-blank since September 1, but my craving for a wholesome pumpkin-inspired breakfast has skyrocketed (shocker). I wanted to have a recipe that used honey as the sweetener and coconut oil as the fat, and this recipe fit those parameters. I also wanted something that used a whole can of pumpkin (I am so demanding!) so in comes the tweaking (not to be confused with twerking!). I have 100daysofrealfood.com to thank for the basis of the recipe, as well as a zealous pursuit of more ways to eat baked goods for breakfast.

 

1 1/2 c whole grain white flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 heaping tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp allspice

1 tsp salt

1/2 c ground flax

1 can pumpkin

2 eggs

1/2 c coconut oil, melted

1/2 c honey

1 tsp vanilla

 

In a large bowl, sift together flour, soda, powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, salt, and flax. Make a well in the center of the flour mixture and dump the pumpkin, eggs, coconut oil, and honey. Stir until mostly combine and add vanilla; stir just until no flour remains. Bake in a greased loaf pan at 350 degrees for 40 minutes; turn off oven and leave in hot oven for 10 more minutes. (NOTE: this makes a little more than a regular-sized loaf. You can either risk over-filling one loaf pan or make 2 thin loaves or a loaf + a couple of muffins OR you can use an oversized loaf pan like I did.)

5 thoughts on “Honey-Flax Pumpkin Bread.

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Bread | My Passions

  2. Pingback: Two Recipes, One Can (Recipe Reviews) | Night Owl Kitchen

  3. Pingback: Pumpkin Cream Cheese Bread – (lightened up) | stacyknows.com

  4. Pingback: Pumpkin Bread | The Great American Feast

  5. Pingback: Pumpkin Bread « Keitochan Says:

Leave a Reply

