Sweet Potato Cornbread.

You were expecting this, weren’t you? Well, to be quite frank, my kid wasn’t a huge fan of the Crock Pot sweet potatoes. He prefers them totally pulverized, and those potatoes were still in (delicious) chunks. Abomination! I tried mashing them, and it kind of worked, but I decided to pitch the rest of them into something warm & freshly baked instead of fight my kid anymore. Direct quotation from my husband: “I think you’ve just discovered my favorite way to eat sweet potatoes.” So, here I am, putting this one on the books so I can get him to eat some more SP in the future. Done and done!

 

1 c flour

1 c yellow cornmeal

4 tsp baking powder

3/4 tsp salt

1/4 c sugar

1 1/2 c cooked sweet potato

2 eggs

1/3 c + 1 tbsp milk (I used almond)

3 tbsp vegetable or coconut oil

 

In a small bowl, sift together flour, cornmeal, baking powder, salt, and sugar. In a larger bowl, mash sweet potatoes with a fork. It’s okay if there are still some small chunks. Add eggs, milk, and oil and stir until combined. Dump in dry ingredients and stir until just combined. Pour into a greased 10″ cast iron skillet OR a greased muffin tin. Bake at 425 degrees for 15 minutes. When top is browned and cornbread is almost set, leave in oven with the heat off for 5 minutes. Remove from oven and allow to cool 5 minutes. Serve hot.

Leave a Reply

