Vegan Sunbutter Cookies.

I recently pushed out a kid, so we’ve been showered with love from various friends & family members in the form of food. We are not the easiest family to cook for (I’m a vegetarian, my husband’s a meat-eater, and our big kid can’t eat dairy and a whole list of other things that I add to daily because I’m a little psychotic), but people have been incredible about accommodating all that. It’s been a trip getting the chance to try our loved one’s yummy recipes! This is a dessert our friends made to go alongside chili. It’s adapted from this recipe since I try to avoid peanut butter for my kid. I…haven’t stopped eating them. I keep telling myself they’re healthy, proteiny snacks that I need because I’m a nursing mother! We’ll see how far that logic gets me past my post-baby thighs…

 

1 c oat flour

1/3 c oats

1/4 c unpacked brown sugar

1 1/4 tsp baking powder

1 c sunflower seed butter

6 tbsp unsweetened applesauce

1 tsp vanilla

 

Sift together dry ingredients. Add sunbutter, applesauce, and vanilla; mix well. Drop by teaspoonfuls onto a greased cookie sheet and bake at 350 degrees for 7-10 minutes. Remove from oven and allow to cool slightly on pan before removing to a plate. Cookies will be very soft (but very delicious) and may fall apart easily.

One thought on “Vegan Sunbutter Cookies.

Leave a Reply

