Oat Muffins.

It’s pretty obvious I’m on a breakfast streak here. I adore breakfast, and I love making nutritious things for my kid. Breakfast is a time I rarely have to fight him. He eats the heck out of scrambled eggs (our usual morning food) and is pleased as punch if I present him with anything but. These muffins took 15 minutes to mix together and load into a muffin tin, and then I was able to make a quick fruit salad while they baked and my coffee brewed. I did not make them a stitch sweeter than necessary, and we loved them, but I included a honey option if you need a sweet muffin to get you going. (Also, I got the recipe for these puppies off Pinterest but don’t have a reliable link to lead you to the source [sorry!] but we’ll send a virtual GRACIAS in its general direction.)

 

3 ripe bananas, mashed

1 c unsweetened vanilla almond milk

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

2 tbsp honey (optional)

3 c oats

1 tbsp baking powder

2 tbsp ground flax seeds

1/4 c chocolate chips

Cooking spray or baking cups

 

In a medium bowl, mix all ingredients until they just come together. Spray muffin tin with cooking spray (I used coconut oil) and drop by 1/2-c increments into 12 muffin cups. Bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes or until tops are lightly browned. Cool slightly before removing from pan. Serve warm.

Leave a Reply

