Paleo Pancakes.

This was a gloriously delicious, fast, energy-packed breakfast, and I had all the ingredients I needed on hand (my favorite!). We do not eat a paleo diet, but I make my best attempt to keep grains out of our diet when it’s possible (possible = easy), especially when my kid isn’t feeling 100%. Being a pesco-vegetarian, there are only so many mornings eggs are gonna cut it for me. I’m a pancakeholic, muffinholic, sconeaholic, etc. If I could regularly have a crunchy bagel with an inch of shmear and a pile of lox (and capers and onions…) on top, I’d be a happy woman. But I’ve got this difficult kid to feed and a brain that gets mottled by too much wheat and only so much in my budget for food, so a recipe like this completes me like a pile of wheat mixed with butter can’t. I got the idea for this here. Pancake it up!

 

2 ripe bananas

2 heaping tbsp sunflower butter

4 eggs

2 tbsp ground walnuts

1/2 tsp cinnamon

Coconut oil spray

 

In a medium bowl, mash bananas and sunflower butter together. Stir in eggs until incorporated. Fold in cinnamon and ground walnuts. Drop by 1/2-cup portions onto a greased skillet over medium-low heat. Monitor until bubbles appear on top and flip. Cook until evenly set. Serve hot. Makes 6.

Leave a Reply

