Skillet Croutons.

I love to bake, but I detest turning on the oven in the summer. Thankfully, I was able to give my leftover French baguette some love without a single crank of the oven dial. I ate these in a creamy tomato soup, but I think I’ll do larger pieces and make a panzanella salad next time. If you’re feeling sassy, I recommend experimenting with additional seasonings to complement your recipe. Rosemary, garlic, and thyme would all be yummy with the olive oil!

 

1/2 French baguette, cubed into 1/2″-1″ pieces

2 tbsp olive oil

1/2 tsp Kosher salt

1/4 tsp freshly-ground black pepper

 

In a large skillet, heat olive oil over medium-high heat. Sprinkle in salt and pepper. When oil is hot, toss in bread pieces. Coat evenly with olive oil and seasoning. Adjust heat to medium and toast bread pieces, stirring frequently, until bread is lightly browned on most sides. Remove from heat and allow to sit in pan for a few minutes before serving to totally dry out. Serve in soups or salads, or just pop them in your mouth like popcorn like I (accidentally) did.

One thought on “Skillet Croutons.

  1. Pingback: Curried Acorn Squash Soup. | Homemade IncrEDIBLE

Leave a Reply

