Banana Avocado Chocolate Ice Cream.

I’m desperately in the mood for rainbow sherbet. I’m pregnant, and so far, what pregnancy means for me in terms of cravings is something tart and sweet, like lemonade. Or rainbow sherbet. Confession: I sent my baby daddy out on Father’s Day for a preggo craving run. I couldn’t help it. I was dying for rainbow sherbet. (Un?)Fortunately, he returned with a box of cones under his arm and no sherbet. I was devastated, and so was my poor husband, who, after listening to my exalting praise of the sugary treat, was super-duper in the mood for it too. Of the many problems with sherbet, the most worrisome issue is my kid can’t partake. Food dye is just one issue. Frankly, I really shouldn’t be eating it either. So I made this. I had to search for an ice cream recipe that I could make with what I had. I use the heck out of almond milk so I buy a lot of it, but I don’t regularly have coconut milk around because we eat it and then it’s gone. Most ice cream and sherbet recipes call for something fatty to bind it all together and emulsify the ingredients. I knew my “60-calorie-per-serving” almond milk wasn’t going to cut it in most ice “cream” recipes so I honed my search and found the inspiration for this. It’s still mixing in the ice cream maker, but the pre-mix is yummy, so I’m just gonna go ahead and write this recipe down before I forget it. It isn’t rainbow sherbet, but it is dairy-free vegetable-y ice cream goodness.

 

 

2 ripe avocados, peeled and seeded

3 ripe bananas, peeled

4 tbsp honey

2 c unsweetened vanilla almond milk

2 tbsp coconut oil

1 tsp almond extract

1/4 c cocoa powder

 

 

Combine all ingredients in a blender until smooth. Pour into an ice cream maker and follow manufacturer’s instructions until desired consistency is achieved.

OR Pour into a freezable container with a lid and freeze for at least 4 hours before eating.

OR Just eat it as is and enjoy it like a pudding.

Leave a Reply

