Flour Tortillas.

My husband has made these 5 times in a month. We limit our kid’s diet quite a bit, and so when we allow–encourage, even–him to devour things wrapped in a fresh floury tortilla, he’s in heaven. I have a strange (probably life-preserving) aversion to preservatives in foods, which is why I go to all the pains I do for scratch cooking. I have always hated the tinniness of canned soups, that weird smell you get when you open a loaf of bread, and that creepy soft texture of some store-bought cookies. Preservatives!! Now, I eat canned beans and tomatoes like crazy, and there isn’t a Joe-Joe I’ve met that I won’t eat heartily. However, if I can swing it in my average American kitchen with my not-so-average hectic schedule, I’ll make it myself.

 

This holy-homemade undertaking has recently extended to bread products. I don’t buy bread anymore unless it’s made fresh at a bakery. Like, I’ve got to be able to sniff the air & find evidence the bread was in the oven within the past day or so. Snotty, I know, but it’s either forced me to bake the heck out of bread every once in a while or to just stop eating it altogether (mostly the latter). ALL THIS BEING SAID, my point is we had to find a recipe for a tortilla we didn’t completely hate. There was one instance where I made whole-wheat tortillas for friends who came for dinner, and they were so chewy and awful-tasting, I thought I would die of embarrassment. These tortillas are pliable and have the perfect balance of chewiness and tenderness. They’re not hard to make, whip up in a few minutes, and make you never want to buy store-bought tortillas again.

 

Adapted from this recipe.

 

2 c whole grain white flour

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 c vegetable oil

1/2 c warm water (may use more)

Flour for dusting

 

In a medium bowl, combine flour, salt, and baking powder. Using your hands, cut in the vegetable oil and work until dough is a consistent texture (it will look like a bowl full of small dough balls). Drizzle in water and combine just until dough comes together fully, adding water 1 tablespoonful at a time if too dry. Wrap dough in plastic wrap and allow to rest for 30 minutes. Lightly flour a large work surface. Divide dough into 8 pieces. Roll each in a little bit of flour and roll out very thinly with a floured rolling pin. Stack uncooked tortillas with a light dusting of flour between each. Heat a large skillet over high heat. Cook tortillas one at a time for 30 seconds each side. Remove from heat and cover with a damp towel until ready to serve. Makes 8.

Leave a Reply

