Puppy Chow.

I could eat the shiz-nitty out of puppy chow. A teeny (and very loud) part of my brain reminds me that it’s just cereal, so it’s all good. Cereal and peanut butter make puppy chow a fairly balanced snack, right??! Either way, it wouldn’t be a recipe if I didn’t totally biff it up and make it belong to me. I wanted it simple, easy, and cheap. This recipe doesn’t even require butter, just a short list of ingredients I can pick up at Aldi. I included the ounces of each in case you don’t find yourself in an Aldi four times a week like I do. A word of caution: the simplicity of this recipe may encourage you to make this ASAP, and you may or may not eat all the big clumps for breakfast like I do. Be careful.

 

1 box rice squares cereal (~13 oz)

1 jar natural peanut butter (16 oz)

1 bag semisweet chocolate chips (12 oz)

1 tsp salt

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 bag powdered sugar (~1 lb)

 

In a saucepan, heat peanut butter and chocolate chips over low heat until chips barely begin to melt. Remove from heat and stir with a rubber spatula until all the chips are melted, returning to low heat briefly if needed. Stir in salt and vanilla. Dump cereal into a large bowl. Pour chocolate peanut butter mixture over cereal and stir with a wooden spoon until most of the cereal is coated with the mixture. Allow to cool 10 minutes. Sprinkle powdered sugar over cereal in 1-cup increments, tossing cereal in sugar to coat with each addition. When cereal is sufficiently coated in powdered sugar, enjoy heartily.

Leave a Reply

