Italian Cucumber Sandwiches.

My sister-in-law made these for a family event using cucumbers she grew in her garden. I ate …a lot of them. I loved them. I couldn’t chalk it up to any one thing: was it the fresh and exotic (“Dragon’s Egg”?!) cucumbers she had used? Was it the rye bread? Was I just hungry?? It might have been all of the above. Either way, I highly suggest you add this to your appetizer repertoire, especially if you’re having me over. I’ll help you eat them. All.

 

1 package Party Rye Bread

2 medium cucumbers, thinly sliced

1 stick butter, softened

1 8-oz package cream cheese, softened

1 package dry Italian dressing mix

Dried dill

 

Prepare a cookie sheet with a piece of parchment paper or aluminum foil. Line the cookie sheet with the slices of rye bread. In a small bowl, mix together butter, cream cheese, and dressing mix. Spread about 2 tsp of the cream cheese mixture on each slice of bread. Top each with a cucumber slice and a small sprinkle of dill. Serve immediately or wrap tightly with plastic wrap and refrigerate until ready to serve.

Leave a Reply

