Spaghetti Squash with Raisins and Walnuts.

I’ll be honest: I’m scared of cooking most squash. I just don’t always feel like going to all the time and trouble to make it. Because it’s so good and good for me, I can occasionally feel inspired enough to make some. I like my squash sweet, so that’s where the cinnamon, raisins, and agave come in. The protein & iron from the walnuts make this meal bona fide wholesome. While I would ordinarily load this dish with butter, I used coconut oil because of my darling child’s dairy intolerance. However, butter could totally be swapped for the oil if you’re feeling it. Speaking of my kid, he (sort of) tolerated the “spaghetti,” which means only one thing to me: he actually ate a vegetable, albeit a tiny portion of one!

 

1 spaghetti squash

1 tbsp coconut oil

1 tsp ground cinnamon

2 tbsp agave nectar

1/2 c walnuts

1/4 c raisins

Dash salt

 

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. With a sharp knife, cut squash in half. Place cut-side-down in a glass or ceramic baking dish and fill with water until it fills the dish 1/2″ from the bottom. Cover with aluminum foil and bake 40 minutes or until squash is easily pierced with a small knife. Remove from oven, turn squash halves onto uncut sides, and cover with foil again. Bake an additional 10-15 minutes. Remove from oven and allow to cool slightly. Gently scrape out seeds from each half; discard. Carefully scoop out flesh into a large bowl. Heat coconut oil in a large skillet on high. Gently toss spaghetti squash in hot oil until thoroughly coated. Transfer squash into a medium casserole dish. Toast walnuts in hot pan until fragrant; sprinkle on top of squash. Top with raisins, salt, agave, and a generous dusting of cinnamon; stir to combine. Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

