Coconut Macaroons.

When it’s been a while since I’ve posted (sorry!), I have no idea where to start. So naturally I resort to baked goods. My great-grandma, who passed away 6 years ago, made the BEST coconut macaroons EVER. We tried to get the “recipe” from her; we really did. She just had nothing to follow besides measurements based on intuition. While I totally respect (and admire) that, it does nothing for me when I want her macaroons, and I want them NOW, dammit! I’ve found a recipe that produces a product vaguely resembling hers. The crunch of the toasted coconut mixed with the soft, chewy inside totally mask the fact that this cookie is both gluten-free AND dairy-free. I couldn’t stop myself from having seconds, thirds…fourths…Win!

 

3 egg whites

3 tbsp sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 tsp salt

3 c sweetened shredded coconut

 

Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil; grease with oil and lightly dust with flour. Using a fork, mix the egg whites, sugar, vanilla, and salt until combined. Fold in the coconut. Drop by spoonfuls onto prepared baking sheet and bake 15-20 minutes or until the tops of the macaroons are lightly toasted. Lift foil off hot baking sheet and allow macaroons to cool completely on a cooling rack before removing from foil. Makes about 2 dozen small macaroons.

2 thoughts on “Coconut Macaroons.

  1. hey, sylvia, if you wanted chocolate drizzled on those there are chocolate chips with no dairy in them. i buy the Baker’s brand. they’re chunks. they melt and incorporate into recipes well. i’m gonna have to try these soon. i will be drizzling chocolate on mine 🙂

    • Thanks! I’ll have to check that out. Every time I’m at Trader Joe’s, I think to look for dairy-free chocolate…when I’m 3-deep in line. Oh well! Chi does miss his chocolate fix.

Leave a Reply

