Layered Taco Dip.

I take absolutely no credit for this recipe except for the fact that now it’s written down on this blog. We’ve been eating this dip for years in my family! It’s just so darn easy & delicious. One time I told my sister, “I think I love this so much because of the green onions.” Her genius reply was, “You know, you could always just eat green onions. You don’t need the whole dip.” While her logic is impeccable, I disagree. I need this dip wholeheartedly. A few notes: brand-name beans are essential, trust me; you can substitute chopped cilantro for the green onions (or do both); you might want to make a double batch because this will be gone before you know it. Yum.

 

1 can brand-name refried beans

1 8-oz container sour cream

1 packet taco seasoning

1 bag Mexican blend shredded cheese

1 bunch green onions, diced

1 package grape tomatoes, halved (optional)

 

Combine taco seasoning mix and sour cream; set aside. On a large plate or platter, spread the beans into a thin layer using a rubber spatula. Spread the sour cream mixture evenly over the beans. Top with cheese, onions, and tomatoes, if using. Cover with plastic wrap & refrigerate or serve immediately with tortilla chips.

Leave a Reply

