Super Fluffy Pancakes with a Spinach Kick.

I’ve had this recipe sitting in my email for a hundred years. That’s how motivated I’ve been to cook OR post in this blog. Sorry, readers! This comes from my older sister who has a kid 11 months younger than mine. She and I share a passion for stuffing as much nutrition into each meal as possible. Here’s what she had to say about this recipe:

“I LOVE these pancakes…and I’m not really a super pancake fan. The recipe was inspired by an Allrecipes.com Fluffy Pancakes Recipe mixed with [HomeadeIncredible’s] green pancake idea (but I was running low on stuff in the kitchen and didn’t have a few of your ingredients). I’ve made ’em multiple times and stand in the kitchen eating them as I cook!”

That’s what I’m talking about: creative solutions to ingredient dilemmas! Get cookin’!

 

3/4 c milk

2 tbsp white vinegar

1 c flour

2 tbsp white sugar

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tbsp agave nectar

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

2 eggs

2 tbsp butter, melted

1 c frozen spinach, thawed*

Cooking spray

 

Combine milk with vinegar in a medium bowl & set aside for 5 minutes to “sour.” Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt in a large mixing bowl. Whisk egg and butter with “soured” milk. Pour wet ingredients over dry ingredients and whisk until lumps are gone. Stir in agave, milk, and spinach. Heat a large skillet over medium heat and coat with cooking spray. Pour by 1/4 c portions into skillet and cook until bubbles appear. Flip with a spatula and cook until lightly browned on both sides.

*My sister & I are big fans of bagged frozen spinach vs. the blocks because of the ease of use. To thaw spinach, dump 1 c into a small saucepan with 2 tsp water. Cover & cook over low heat until frozen clumps are falling apart. Tilt pan so water can drain to opposite side; squeeze slightly.

One thought on “Super Fluffy Pancakes with a Spinach Kick.

  1. Tip: I often use frozen spinach. Since the butter needs to be melted, I just thaw the spinach and butter together in the microwave or in the skillet for a few minutes. If its hot, be sure to cool it before adding to the rest of the batter.

Leave a Reply

