Mexican Lasagna.

I literally just made this. The thing I love about this recipe is I have most of the ingredients on hand at any given time.

 

3 c cooked brown rice

1 jar (15.5 oz) salsa

1/2 tsp dried oregano

1 tbsp butter

1 tsp salt

1 can refried beans

3 c frozen corn, thawed

1/2 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp chile powder

1 32-oz bag frozen spinach, thawed and squeezed dry

2 c shredded cheddar cheese

 

In a bowl, combine rice, salsa, oregano, butter, and salt. In another bowl, combine refried beans with corn, cumin, and chile powder. In a greased 12x8x3″ pan, dump half the rice mixture, spreading to the sides. Spread the entire bean mixture over the rice, top with 1 c cheese, and then sprinkle all the spinach on top of that. Dump remaining rice mixture onto spinach and top with the rest of the cheese. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes or until the thermometer reads 140 degrees.

One thought on “Mexican Lasagna.

  1. I’m not very good at following a recipe, but I am good at making Mexican! Since my husband doesn’t like frozen spinach, I used tri-colored peppers instead to add to the veggie factor. Also, since I make my own salsa and didn’t have a jar onhand, I used canned diced tomatoes and added chopped jalepenos to the rice. He ate this in a burrito, and I ate mine served over crushed tortilla chips. So good!

Leave a Reply

