Summer Pea Salad.

I am a confirmed vegetable fanatic with one exception…peas. It’s not that I don’t try! I want to like them, and I’ve experimented with many recipes to grow my love for them. I always go back, however, to my mom’s good ol’ pea salad recipe, which continues to be the only way I’ll ever happily eat a pea. This is one of those recipes that solidified my stepdad’s conviction that my mom is, indeed, a goddess.

 

1 bag frozen peas, slightly thawed (I leave mine on the counter while I chop)

1 c shredded cheddar cheese

1 c chopped red onion

1 carrot, chopped

1/2 c olive oil mayonnaise

1 tbsp lemon juice

1 tsp sea salt

1/4 tsp black pepper

 

In a lidded bowl, combine all ingredients and allow to sit for an hour at room temperature. If desired, sprinkle 1 tbsp fresh diced dillweed (or about 1/4 tsp dried) on top before serving.

Leave a Reply

