Black Bean Burgers.

Within a month of discovering this recipe, I made it 5 times. It’s absurd how good (and easy!) (and cheap!!) (like, $1!!!) it is. I’ve made it with both ground oatmeal and with bread crumbs, and I can honestly say that I prefer the gluten-free route. And I definitely, definitely recommend putting a fried egg on top of that business. Talk about the breakfast of champions.

1 can black beans, rinsed and drained

1/4 c shredded carrot

1/4 c red onion, finely diced

1 egg

1 1/2 c bread crumbs or coarsely ground dry oats

3 tbsp olive oil

In a medium bowl, mash beans with fork. Add onion, carrot, 1 tbsp olive oil, egg, and 3/4 c oats or bread crumbs. Mix together until well-blended. Form into 4 big or 6 medium-sized patties and coat using remaining bread crumbs/oats. In a skillet, heat 2 tbsp olive oil over medium heat and fry patties until golden-brown on each side, about 3-4 minutes. Add additional olive oil while frying to ensure even cooking. Serve on soft buns with fresh spinach, sharp cheddar cheese, and salsa. Can also serve on a bed of spinach with a fried egg and salsa on top. Serves 4-6.

One thought on “Black Bean Burgers.

  1. I made these tonight and though my husband and kids weren’t the least bit impressed I thought they were really good! I had made black bean burgers before but just salted and peppered the mashed beans (oversalted at that) and they were awful. I loved the onion and oatmeal and added a tiny amount of parmesan and mustard. Super tasty, thanks for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

