Chocolate Zucchini Bread.

My friend gave me an infant-sized zucchini yesterday, and that prompted me to whip up a double batch of this bread. I found the recipe on Pinterest and made it for my kid for his birthday (with a variation of this coconut milk frosting). Oddly enough, we prefer the flavor and texture of the bread without the chocolate chips the original recipe calls for. However, we’ve eaten the heck out of it either way. Since this sweet, fluffy bread is loaded with a vegetable, I give you permission to gorge yourself on it for dinner at least once this week.

 

2 1/2 c white whole grain flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 c unsweetened cocoa

1 tsp salt

3 eggs

1 1/2 c sugar

1 c oil

2 c shredded zucchini

2 tsp vanilla

1 c chocolate chips (optional)

 

In a medium bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cocoa; set aside. In a separate, larger bowl, beat sugar with eggs until fluffy. Beat in oil and vanilla. Stir in zucchini. Gently fold flour mixture and chocolate chips (if using) into zucchini mixture until thoroughly combined. Pour batter into 2 greased loaf pans and bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. Rotate pans and bake an additional 20-30 minutes.*

*If the top bakes more swiftly than the inside of the bread, cover bread with foil and reduce heat to 300. Check every 10 minutes until a skewer inserted near the middle comes out clean.

One thought on “Chocolate Zucchini Bread.

  1. hehe, you had me at “infant-sized.” I’ve received zucchini every week in my CSA box since May (I’m going on 16 weeks) and I’m still not sick of it!!! Thanks for the recipe though!

Leave a Reply

